Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Kramers Ergot 7

So Buenaventura Press has listed all the participants in Sammy Harkham's much-ballyhooed Kramers Ergot 7.

A complete list of artists include: Rick Altergott, Gabrielle Bell, Jonathan Bennett, Blanquet, Blex Bolex,
Conrad Botes, Shary Boyle, Mat Brinkman, John Brodowski, Ivan Brunetti, C.F., Chris Cilla, Jacob Ciocci, Dan Clowes, Martin Cendreda, Joe Daly, Kim Deitch, Matt Furie, Tom Gauld, Leif Goldberg, Matt Groening, John Hankiewicz, Sammy Harkham, Eric Haven, David Heatley, Tim Hensley, Jaime Hernandez, Walt Holcombe, Kevin Huizenga, J. Bradley Johnson, Ben Jones & Pshaw, Ben Katchor, Ted May, Geoff McFetridge, Jesse McManus, James McShane, Jerry Moriarty, Anders Nilsen, John Pham, Aapo Rapi, Ron Rege Jr.,
Xavier Robel, Helge Reumann, Ruppert & Mulot, Johnny Ryan, Richard Sala, Souther Salazar, Frank Santoro, Seth, Shoboshobo, Josh Simmons, Anna Sommer, Will Sweeney, Matthew Thurber, Adrian Tomine, C. Tyler, Chris Ware, and Dan Zettwoch.

Funny I remember Mart Cendreda when he was sending out stapled issues of his little mini Random Milk to be reviewed in my own sloppily stapled zine edition of TCI. His style was all over the place then. Meanwhile TCI dissed Josh Simmon's early minis only to make an about-face based on his fine story in the True Porn anthology and since then he's gone on to be published by the evil Fanta empire. Finally Tom Gauld was another unknown on these shores but I remember my pal Nick Abadzis really touting Gauld's talents when we hung out at SPX, as well as several other British artists struggling in the very small pool of the UK indie scene. So it's nice to see Gauld getting some recognition these days as well.

No comments: